Your PC. Prepared for Anything.
Bogus Firefox Add-on Poses As Flash Player
“Adobe Flash Player 0.2″ is not what it seems. It has been posted on various forum sites. Unsuspecting Firefox users who have installed this (assuming that it’s gotten past your anti-virus/anti-spyware software) find themselves infected. (To check, in the Firefox menu, choose Tools > Add-ons and look for “Adobe Flash Player 0.2″).
This bogus add-on injects its own advertisements along with Google’s ads. In addition, it can also monitor the results from a user’s Google queries, which it sends to a special website. This is another reason to consider using Startpage.com for your web searches.
As always, keep your anti-virus/anti-malware software updated, and only obtain add-ons from legitimate sites. Read more at Trendmicro’s blog.
| Print article | This entry was posted by PreparedPC on August 30, 2009 at 10:07 am, and is filed under Security and Privacy, Web Browsing. Follow any responses to this post through RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback from your own site. |